Six Thinking Hats

Edward deBono invented the The Six Thinking Hats method in the early 1980's. The method is a framework for thinking and can incorporate lateral thinking. It is used to look at issues from a number of important perspectives.

DeBono's six hats are:

  • White Hat - seeking information
  • Blue Hat - for planning, monitory and thinking about thinking
  • Yellow Hat - looking for the advantages
  • Black Hat - looking for the disadvantages
  • Green Hat - being creative, generating alternative ideas or solutions
  • Red Hat - expressing feelings

Links for further reading: